What greater work is there than training the mind and forming the habits of the young?" ~ St. John Chrysostom

Golden Apple Awards

Through the generosity and kindness of the Donahue Family Foundation, the Golden Apple Awards Program has been established to honor outstanding individuals who devote their lives to teaching in Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Harrisburg. The Golden Apple Awards were first presented by the Donahue Family Foundation in 1992 in the Diocese of Pittsburgh. Jack and Rhodora Donahue are the parents of 13 children who were all educated in Catholic schools. The Donahues were eager to express their deep appreciation to Catholic school teachers for providing quality academic and faith-filled education for their children. One of their sons, William Donahue, is now the president of the foundation, which invited the Diocese of Harrisburg and the Diocese of Youngstown (Ohio) to participate beginning in 2005.

Each year, the Golden Apple Award will be given to six teachers and one principal in the Diocese of Harrisburg. The award will consist of the following:

  • Cash award of $5000
  • Certificate of Achievement
  • Golden Apple
  • Individual photo with the Bishop
  • Group photo with the Bishop and Secretary for Education


Golden Apple Award Recipients from Delone Catholic

2009 - Brian Yealy '79, P'10, P'12
2010 - Candy (Staub) Sneeringer '88, P'15, P'17
2011 - Julia (Tutino) Fuhrman
2012 - Beth Sneeringer '96
2013 - Patricia Marrocco P'02, P'05, P'06 (retired teacher)
2014 - Lynn (Rosner) Yealy '84, P'10, P'12
2015 - Donna Tompkins P'06, P'10
2016 - Jennifer Noel '05
2017 - Dr. Maureen Thiec P'94, P'02 (retired principal)
2018 - Katherine (Ressel) Phenicie
2019 - Nancy Duffy P'13, P'19


Click "More Details" to learn about each of our dedicated and accomplished teaching staff members.

Mrs. Melissa F. Braden
Art Teacher
Dr. Carmen Brown P'07
Foreign Language Department Chair
Mrs. J. A. DiPuppo P'93, P'96
Religion Teacher
Mrs. Bethann K. Dolbow
Mathematics and Science Teacher
Ms. Nancy J. Duffy P'13, P'19
English Department Chair
Mr. John D. Fournie
Mrs. Julia T. Fuhrman
Social Studies Department Chair
Mrs. Janis D. Gadow
Science Teacher
Mrs. M. M. Girroir P'14, P'21
English Teacher
Mr. William M Grandia II
Drivers' Education Teacher
Mr. Derek J. Hakes
Tech. Ed. Teacher
Mrs. Kristine C. Hammar
Religion Department Chair
Mr. John Hendrick
French Teacher
Mrs. Jennifer A. Knechtmann
Social Studies Teacher
Mr. D. W. Maitland P'13, '14, '17, '18
English Teacher, Head Girls' Soccer Coach
Mr. Brendan J. McCall
Religion Teacher
Miss Jennifer K. Noel '05
English Teacher
Mrs. Katherine A. Phenicie
Spiritual Life Director
Miss Ruthann M. Pinkos
Science Department Chair
Mrs. Jessica B. Reed
Foreign Language Teacher
Mrs. Betsy Reese '77, P'06
Practical Arts Department Chair
Mrs. Dianne M. Scanlon
Social Studies Teacher
Mr. J. T. Sherdel '93, P'20, P'22
Physical Education Teacher
Mrs. Cora C. Shields
Family and Consumer Science Teacher
Mr. W. F. Smith '92, P'16, P'19 Jr.
Science Teacher
Mrs. C. A. Sneeringer '88, P'15, P'17
Mathematics Department Chair
Miss Beth A. Sneeringer '96
Mathematics Teacher
Mr. David J. Staub '94
Mathematics Teacher
Mr. B. F. Yealy '79, P'10, P'12
Fine Arts Department Chair
Mrs. L. M. Yealy '84, P'10, P'12
Elementary Music Teacher