Cafeteria Design Contest Winner Chosen

After months of hard work and the student choice round, four teams presented their designs for the Cafeteria Design Contest to a judges' panel on Wednesday, April 27 in the Delone Catholic Library. The judges chose the design created by Emily McCann '22 to win the top prize. The teams of Ella Zinn '22, and Adam Lawrence '23, Colby Noel '23 and Riley Slee '23, tied for second place, and the team of Kaiden Miller '25 and Alexander Vrankin '25 came in third.

The video below was submitted by winner Emily McCann for the student choice round. 

Inspired by Principal William Lippe P'25, and organized by a committee comprised of Miss Jennifer Noel '05, Mr. Barkley Walter '08, and Mrs. Julia Fuhrman, the Cafeteria Design Contest was introduced to the student body in February and initially, 18 teams registered. In the end, four teams submitted designs for the student choice round. All four teams were invited to present to the judges' panel, which included Cafeteria Manager Carla Harriett P'21,'23, Facilities Manager Tony Poist '78, Donna (Shanebrook) Smith '73, P'96, '04 of Schmitt's Interiors, volunteer school decorators Mary Ann (Groft) Maitland  '82, P'13, '14, '17,'18 and Michelle Warehime P'22, '24, and Vice Principal Donna Tompkins P'06, '10.

Cafeteria Design Contest (3).jpg  Cafeteria Design Contest (2).jpg

Cafeteria Design Contest (4).jpg  Cafeteria Design Contest (1).jpg

The judges have invited the students from all four teams to serve with them on a committee to create a practical plan from the winning vision, with the intention of renovating the cafeteria as soon as possible using funds pledged by an anonymous donor.